9 Day Machame Route: Camping Trek from Arusha
This 9 day Machame route trek from Mokimoh Adventure Tanzania costs $2,455 per person and runs from Arusha to the summit of Kilimanjaro and back down to Moshi town. It runs 9 days, which the listing card says helps acclimatisation, and it bundles entry fees, government taxes, hotel accommodation before and after the hike and a BBQ after the climb into the price. It is also a new listing with no reviews yet, and sleeping bags and climbing gear read as excluded. This page breaks down what the price covers, how the route runs and who should look at a different climb on Kilimanjaro climbing tours.
About This Tour
Mokimoh Adventure Tanzania runs this 9 day, 8 night Machame climb with camping all the way. Porters carry the food, tents and camping equipment, meals are prepared on the mountain and mineral water is provided. The route starts at Machame Gate on the south-west side, passes the Shira Plateau, Barranco and Lava Tower and descends by the Mweka trail on the south-east.
The price sits at $2,455 per person with all taxes and fees included, and entry fees and government taxes are in it too. Accommodation before and after the hike is covered, though the number of hotel nights is not stated. The listing is new and has no reviews yet, so there is little feedback to read before you commit.
$2,455 per person, all taxes and fees included. Entry fees, government taxes, a certificate fee for successful climbers and a BBQ after the climb are covered.
9 days (8 nights), with pickup at Kilimanjaro and a program that starts in Arusha.
Arusha, with pickup and drop-off at Kilimanjaro stated as included. The route enters the park at Machame Gate.
Kilimanjaro summit. The listing does not state a height. The peak is generally given as 5,895 m (19,341 ft).
Sleeping bags and climbing gear read as excluded, so confirm with the operator. Traveler's insurance and items of a personal nature are not included. Tips of at least $15 (USD 15) per person per day are recommended, about $135 over 9 days.
Free cancellation up to 24 hours before departure for a full refund, with reserve now and pay later available.
Check Dates and Availability
The listing does not state fixed departure times, so open the booking panel to see starting times for your date. Cancellation stays free until 24 hours before departure.
Quick answer The short answer
This 9 day Machame route trek costs $2,455 per person for 9 days and 8 nights of camping, run by Mokimoh Adventure Tanzania from Arusha. Entry fees, government taxes, hotel nights before and after, and a BBQ after the climb are included. Sleeping bags and climbing gear read as excluded, and tips of at least $15 per person per day are recommended. The listing is new and has no reviews yet.
Key takeaways
- The 9 day format gives three more days on the mountain than the 6 day Machame Route 6 Days schedule, which sells for less and has 636 reviews.
- Read exactly what the price covers in What the Price Actually Covers before you compare it with cheaper listings.
- Short on time? The Machame Route 7 Days private climb runs two days less, though its listing does not say whether park fees are in the price.
- The Lemosho Route 8 Days is a tented alternative that runs a day less, includes oxygen and has 309 reviews.
What the Price Actually Covers
The listing's own inclusions and exclusions decide this table. Anything not named there is money you may need to find yourself.
Included and Excluded, Line by Line
The $2,455 price covers the 9 day, 8 night trek, pickup and drop-off at Kilimanjaro, camping equipment, meals prepared during the trek, porter services, salaries for guides and porters, professional guides speaking English, Spanish, French, German, Dutch or Italian, mineral water, entry fees, government taxes, a certificate fee for successful climbers and a special BBQ after the climb. Accommodation before and after the hike is included, but the listing does not say how many nights that means, so ask before booking.
The exclusion list reads: sleeping bags and climbing gear, items of a personal nature, traveler's insurance, and tips of at least $15 per person per day. That phrasing on gear is odd because the block sits under Includes in the listing text, so confirm in writing what you must bring or rent. The listing does not name oxygen, gear hire or a visa in the stated price. None of the crew tip money goes into the package, and insurance covering a summit trek is your own purchase.
| Line | In the price | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Trek, 9 days / 8 nights | Yes | Camping on the Machame Route |
| Pickup and drop-off at Kilimanjaro | Yes | Program starts in Arusha, ends in Moshi town |
| Entry fees and government taxes | Yes | Paid by the operator per the listing |
| Accommodation before and after | Yes | Number of nights not stated, ask the operator |
| Tents and camping equipment | Yes | Highlights say a 3-man tent, description says 2 persons per tent |
| Meals and mineral water | Yes | Meals prepared during the trek, BBQ after the climb |
| Certificate fee | Yes | For successful climbers |
| Sleeping bags and climbing gear | Reads as no | Confirm with the operator before booking |
| Traveler's insurance | No | Buy cover for trekking to high altitude |
| Tips | No | At least $15 per person per day recommended, about $135 over 9 days |
| Visa | No | Arranged by you, not stated as included |
Karanga Camp. Photo: Phase9, CC BY-SA 3.0, via Wikimedia Commons
The Route Day by Day
The listing names its stops and the descent trail but does not print a camp-by-camp itinerary with heights. The stages below come from the listing's named stops plus operator-published altitudes for the same route.
From Machame Gate to the Mweka Trail
The program starts in Arusha and enters the park at Machame Gate on the south-west side of the mountain. Operators put the gate at about 1,490 to 1,800 m depending on the source. The route then climbs past the Shira Plateau and reaches Lava Tower and Barranco, the acclimatisation stages the listing names. From Barranco the path crosses the Barranco Wall before the high camps and summit night. The descent runs down the Mweka trail on the south-east side, and the trip ends in Moshi town.
The listing itself gives no day numbers, no camp altitudes and no walking hours, so the heights in the table are operator figures for the standard Machame line and the summit figure comes from park and UNESCO data. The operator states that the route takes six days minimum and that seven days is recommended to increase the chances of summiting. This package spreads the same path over 9 days. Weather and altitude decide whether anyone stands on the summit, and no listing can promise it.
| Stage | Route | Height |
|---|---|---|
| Start | Machame Gate | About 1,490 to 1,800 m per operators |
| Climb | Shira Plateau | About 3,850 to 3,900 m at the Shira camps |
| Acclimatisation | Lava Tower | Height not stated in the listing |
| Camp | Barranco | About 3,950 to 3,976 m per operators |
| High camps | Barafu area | About 4,640 m per operators |
| Summit | Kilimanjaro summit | 5,895 m (19,341 ft), height not stated in the listing |
| Descent | Mweka trail | Mweka Gate about 1,630 to 1,640 m |
| End | Moshi town | Drop-off stated as included |
Who This Trip Rules Out
The listing names its own limits. Several of them push a specific type of traveller toward a different climb.
Check These Limits Before You Pay
Children under 12 are excluded, and so are pregnant women and people with back, heart or respiratory problems. The operator calls the trek challenging, which is honest. If you want proof of an operator's record before paying four figures, this listing has none. It is new with no reviews, so the platform terms are the only safety net. The 6 day Machame Route 6 Days has 636 reviews at a lower price if a track record matters more than an extra acclimatisation day.
If you would rather spend fewer days, the 7 day Machame Route 7 Days is a private climb with a Wilderness First Responder guide, though its listing does not say whether park fees are in the price. If you want a longer route that the listing calls hardly ever crowded, with 54 reviews behind the operator, the Northern Circuit Route 8 Days is the alternative, at $4,554 per person. Budget travellers who want a cheaper 7 day climb with park fees and rescue fees included can look at the Lemosho Route 7 Days Budget, which has one review so far. Group size for this tour is not stated, so ask how many climbers share your departure.
Altitude, Season and Paperwork
These figures come from published park, weather and altitude research, not from the listing.
Season and Summit Conditions
Kilimanjaro has two rainy seasons, March to May and around November. Operators give the dry climbing seasons as January to mid-March and June to October. The average summit temperature is about minus 7 degrees Celsius (19 F), and one operator gives summit-zone night temperatures of minus 20 to minus 10 C. Pack the warm clothing the listing requires, because summit night happens in the dark and the cold.
For month-by-month detail, read best time to climb Kilimanjaro.
Altitude and Acclimatisation
Altitude research classifies anything above 5,500 m as extreme, and about 40 percent of people get acute mountain sickness after rapid ascent to 3,000 m. Acute mountain sickness starts with a headache plus nausea, vomiting, loss of appetite or fatigue. Severe forms are HAPE, fluid in the lungs, and HACE, swelling of the brain, and both can be fatal.
The listing says the route takes six days minimum and recommends seven to improve summit chances, and nine days gives more time still, which is the main argument for this listing. Walk slowly, drink the provided mineral water, and tell your guide at once if symptoms worsen. More background is in climbing Mount Kilimanjaro.
Fees, Visa, Tips and Insurance
The operator pays entry fees and government taxes, and the TANAPA tariff booklet sets the Kilimanjaro conservation fee at $70 (US$70) per person per day for visitors aged 16 and over, plus $50 (US$50) per person per night for public campsites, all plus 18 percent VAT. The Tanzanian embassy lists the ordinary single-entry visa at $50 (US$50) and the multiple-entry visa at $100 (US$100), applied for online. Tips of at least $15 per person per day are recommended by this listing, about $135 across 9 days.
Insurance is excluded, so buy a policy covering trekking to 6,000 m with helicopter evacuation, because the park rescue fee does not cover a full evacuation. How the money adds up is explained in cost to climb Kilimanjaro.
Getting There
Most international arrivals land at Kilimanjaro International Airport (JRO), which sits at 894 m (2,932 ft) and handled over a million passengers in 2024. Airlines serving it include KLM, Qatar Airways, Turkish Airlines, Ethiopian Airlines, Kenya Airways and Air France. The listing includes pickup and drop-off at Kilimanjaro, which covers the transfer, and the program starts in Arusha before ending in Moshi town.
Airport details are in Kilimanjaro airport.
Sources: Wikipedia, Altezza Travel
How the 9 Days Run
The listing does not number its mountain days, so the phases below follow its stated route with operator-published altitudes.
-
Arrival
Arusha and pickup
Pickup and drop-off at Kilimanjaro are included and the program starts in Arusha. Accommodation before the hike is in the price, but the number of hotel nights is not stated, so confirm your arrival night with the operator.
-
Forest
Machame Gate to the first camp
Registration at Machame Gate on the south-west side, then a climb through forest. Operators give the gate as about 1,490 to 1,800 m and the first camp as around 3,010 m on the standard Machame line.
-
Moorland
Shira Plateau
The route crosses onto the Shira Plateau, one of the views the listing names. The Shira camps sit at about 3,850 to 3,900 m, and porters carry the tents, food and equipment the whole way.
-
Acclimatisation
Lava Tower and Barranco
The path climbs to Lava Tower and drops to Barranco at about 3,950 to 3,976 m. This climb-high, sleep-low pattern is what makes the longer schedule useful, and the 9 day format gives extra slow days for it.
-
High camps
The Barranco Wall and the high camps
Barranco is left by the Barranco Wall, which operators say takes one to two hours, then the route moves to the high camps near 4,640 m ahead of summit night.
-
Summit night
Summit attempt
Summit night starts in the dark from high camp. Summit temperatures run around minus 7 degrees Celsius on average and can fall to minus 20 C at night. The listing gives no height for the summit, which park and UNESCO data put at 5,895 m (19,341 ft). Reaching it depends on weather, altitude and your body.
-
Descent
Mweka trail and Moshi
The descent runs down the Mweka trail on the south-east side to Mweka Gate at about 1,630 to 1,640 m. Successful climbers receive their certificate, the group gets its BBQ, and the trip ends with drop-off in Moshi town.
Pros and Cons
An honest read of the listing, with the cons stated plainly and fixes attached.
What we genuinely like
- Nine days on the Machame line gives more acclimatisation time than the six day minimum the listing names.
- Entry fees, government taxes and a certificate fee are in the $2,455 price, so the park-side costs do not land on you at the gate.
- Hotel accommodation before and after the hike, meals on the mountain, mineral water and a BBQ after the climb are all included.
- Free cancellation until 24 hours before departure, with reserve now and pay later on top.
- Guides speak English, Spanish, French, German, Dutch or Italian.
The honest downsides
- The listing is new and has no reviews, so there is no climber feedback to check the operator against. Read the platform terms carefully and ask the operator questions in writing.
- Sleeping bags and climbing gear read as excluded, which is unusual for this price. Confirm in writing what you must bring or rent before booking.
- Tips of at least $15 per person per day, about $135 over 9 days, come on top of the price.
- Traveler's insurance is excluded, and you need a policy that covers trekking to high altitude with evacuation.
- The tent description conflicts: the highlights say a 3-man tent while the description says 2 persons per tent.
- The number of hotel nights before and after is not stated, so the town side of the trip is not fully defined.
Who it's NOT for: Anyone who needs a reviewed operator, a fully defined gear package or a shorter, cheaper Machame week should book a different listing.
Questions About This 9 Day Machame Route Trek
What does the $2,455 price include?
It includes the 9 day, 8 night trek, pickup and drop-off at Kilimanjaro, camping equipment, meals prepared during the trek, porter services, guide and porter salaries, mineral water, entry fees, government taxes, a certificate fee for successful climbers, a BBQ after the climb and accommodation before and after the hike. Compare it with the Machame Route 6 Days to see what a reviewed operator charges.
Do I need to bring a sleeping bag?
The exclusion list reads as though sleeping bags and climbing gear are not included, and the what-to-bring list names a sleeping bag, so message the operator and get written confirmation before booking.
Is 9 days on the Machame Route better than 6 or 7?
The listing itself says the route takes six days minimum and that seven days is recommended to increase summit chances, so a ninth day gives even more room to acclimatise. If you want the middle option, read the Machame Route 7 Days private climb.
Who is not allowed on this trek?
The listing rules out children under 12, pregnant women, and people with back, heart or respiratory problems, and calls the trek challenging. Travellers who want a gentler, shorter taste of the mountain can look at the Kilimanjaro 3-Day Trek to Horombo Hut, which stops at 3,720 m and does not attempt the summit.
How much should I tip the crew?
The listing recommends tips of at least $15 per person per day, about $135 over 9 days, and tips are excluded from the price. Background on how crew pay and tipping works is in cost to climb Kilimanjaro.
Is it safe to book a listing with no reviews?
There is no rating to read, so you are relying on the platform terms, which include free cancellation until 24 hours before departure and reserve now and pay later. If a reviewed operator matters, the Lemosho Route 7 Days has a 5.0 rating from 886 reviews at a higher price.
Does the price guarantee I reach the summit?
No. Weather, altitude and your own condition decide that, and about 70 to 80 percent of trekkers succeed on average according to Wikipedia. The certificate fee covers successful climbers only, and the listing recommends at least seven days to increase the chances of summiting, as explained in how long does it take to climb Kilimanjaro.
Prices, availability and terms are set by the operator and confirmed at checkout.
We may earn a commission if you book through one of our links, at no extra cost to you. Full affiliate disclosure