Kilimanjaro Routes Compared
The Kilimanjaro routes all end at the same point, Uhuru Peak at 5,895 m (19,341 ft), but they start at different gates, take different numbers of days and sleep in different places. This guide walks through each of the seven open Kilimanjaro routes one by one, with the Western Breach covered as what it is, a route closed since 2024. You get the sourced lengths, the gate heights where sources disagree, the hut or tent question, the crowding picture and the claims operators make about success rates. For the money side, the comparison of Kilimanjaro climbing tours prices, fees and inclusions has the detail on what each package actually covers.
Lava Tower. Photo: Stig Nygaard, CC BY 2.0, via Wikimedia Commons
Quick answer Kilimanjaro routes at a glance
There are seven open Kilimanjaro routes. The shortest, Umbwe, runs about 37 to 48 km, and the longest, the Northern Circuit, runs about 88 to 90 km over 8 to 10 days. Marangu is the only route with hut beds, every other route camps. For most first-time climbers the best route to climb Kilimanjaro is Lemosho or Machame at 7 days or more, because the extra days help acclimatisation.
Key takeaways
- Compare the full picture in the routes side by side, with lengths and days from Wikipedia and operator sources.
- See the private Lemosho Route 7 Days, the catalog's most-reviewed climb on this route.
- Prefer huts to tents? The Marangu Route 5 Days sleeps at Mandara, Horombo and Kibo.
- Budget and timing help in which route suits you, from a 6-day Umbwe to a 9-day Northern Circuit.
The Routes Side by Side
Seven routes carry trekkers up Kilimanjaro, plus the Mweka route used for descent only. The figures below come from Wikipedia's route table, with operator figures noted where they differ, because the two sides rarely agree on distance.
Lengths, Days and Sleeping Arrangements
Distance depends on who counts and whether the descent trail is included. Wikipedia gives Machame 49 km while Much Better Adventures gives 61 km and Climb Mount Kilimanjaro 60.76 km total, so treat every length as a range. The same applies to days: Rongai is listed as 5 to 6 days by Wikipedia and sold as 7 days by Altezza Travel and Duma Explorer.
Only Marangu offers hut accommodation on the way up, so all other routes mean sleeping in tents pitched by the porter crew.
| Route | Start gate | Length | Days | Sleep |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Marangu | Marangu Gate, about 1,800 to 1,860 m | About 64 to 74 km round trip | 6, sold as 5 | Huts: Mandara, Horombo, Kibo |
| Machame | Machame Gate, 1,800 m per Altezza and ZAFS, 1,490 m per Zara | About 49 to 61 km | 7, with a 6-day variant | Tents |
| Lemosho | Londorossi or Lemosho Gate, about 2,100 to 2,360 m | About 56 to 67 km | 8, with 7-day versions | Tents |
| Shira | Shira Gate, about 3,400 to 3,600 m | 58 km per Much Better Adventures | Not stated | Tents |
| Rongai | Nalemuru Gate, 2,020 m per Altezza | About 65 to 74 km | 6 to 8 | Tents |
| Northern Circuit | Londorossi Gate, 2,200 m per Altezza | About 88 to 90 km | 8 to 10 | Tents |
| Umbwe | Umbwe Gate | About 37 to 48 km | 6 | Tents |
| Western Breach | Arrow Glacier side | Not stated | Closed since 20 January 2024 | Closed |
How the Crowds Spread
Climb Mount Kilimanjaro reports annual climber counts of 20,339 on Machame, 12,289 on Marangu, 9,927 on Lemosho, 4,088 on Rongai and 589 on Umbwe. Duma Explorer gives a different measure, saying Machame alone carries about 35 percent of all climbers and rating crowding high on Machame and Marangu, low on Rongai and very low on the Northern Circuit and Umbwe. Altezza Travel adds that Rongai sees roughly eight times fewer trekkers than Machame or Marangu.
Whatever the exact split, the pattern holds: Machame and Marangu are busy and the northern starts are quiet. Wikipedia calls the Northern Circuit the newest route with very low traffic.
Sources: Wikipedia, Climb Mount Kilimanjaro, Duma Explorer.
Lemosho, Shira, Machame and Umbwe
The western and southern starts share the same high camps. Operators disagree on how many of these routes cross the Barranco Wall.
Lemosho
Lemosho starts on the western side. Nafika Tours calls it the most scenic route with low crowds and a high summit success rate, while Climb Mount Kilimanjaro says it has the lushest forest but joins the Machame crowds from the fourth day. The trailhead is reached through Londorossi Gate, and gate altitudes quoted by operators run from 2,100 m to 2,360 m, so no single figure is official.
Altezza Travel says the drive from Moshi takes roughly 3 to 4 hours. The route then crosses the Shira Plateau, with Shira 2 Camp at about 3,850 to 3,900 m described by Altezza as the best place to see Mount Meru, weather permitting. Wikipedia lists Lemosho as 8 days and 56 km, a remote forested traverse with camping.
Duma Explorer claims a success rate of about 90 percent on this route, an unaudited operator figure. Bookable options include the Lemosho Route 7 Days at $3,959 per person and the Lemosho Route 8 Days at $3,200, which adds an acclimatisation day.
Shira
The Shira route is rarely used today. Much Better Adventures puts Shira Gate at about 3,500 m, nearly 2,000 m higher than Machame Gate, and notes it is reached by vehicle. Duma Explorer gives the gate as 11,800 ft (3,600 m) and calls the route rarely used today, while Adventure Consultants climbs a Shira-Barafu variant starting from Morum Barrier Gate at 3,400 m (11,150 ft) to Shira 1 Camp at 3,500 m (11,480 ft).
Climb Mount Kilimanjaro says the trail is mostly a four-wheel-drive track and few people take it now. After the plateau, Shira joins the Lemosho and Machame lines over the Barranco Wall.
Machame
Machame, nicknamed the Whiskey Route by Duma Explorer and ZAFS Tours, is the busiest route by Climb Mount Kilimanjaro's count. Wikipedia calls it the second most popular route, Climb Mount Kilimanjaro reports 20,339 climbers a year on it, and Duma Explorer says it carries about 35 percent of all trekkers, describing it as a conveyor belt of people with a great success rate for a six-day trek. The trail climbs from Machame Camp at about 3,010 m through Shira Camp, past Lava Tower at 4,630 m (15,190 ft) used for acclimatisation, and over the 257 m Barranco Wall, which operators say takes one to two hours and is a hiking scramble rather than a climb.
Summit night runs from Barafu Camp at 4,640 m to Stella Point at about 5,756 m and on to Uhuru Peak. Zara Tours gives night temperatures dropping to freezing already at Machame Camp. The Machame Route 6 Days costs $2,350 per person, the Machame Route 7 Days is $2,425, and the Machame Route 9 Days Camping at $2,455 stretches the schedule to help acclimatisation.
Umbwe
Umbwe is the shortest and steepest route. Wikipedia lists it as 6 days and 37 km and labels it dangerous, while Much Better Adventures gives 48 km over at least 5 days and calls it the least crowded route for the first couple of days. Duma Explorer describes it as the most technically demanding start, merging with Machame for the upper mountain, and Climb Mount Kilimanjaro says the steep first days make acclimatisation harder.
Zara Tanzania Adventures pitches it as the steepest and most direct path for experienced trekkers. The crowding figures say it all: Climb Mount Kilimanjaro counts 589 Umbwe climbers a year against 20,339 on Machame. If you have high-altitude trekking behind you and want solitude at the start, the Umbwe Route 6 Days at $2,242 per person with park and rescue fees included is the way it is sold today.
The Western Breach Is Closed
The Western Breach, reached via Arrow Glacier, is not an option. Wikipedia says the route was reopened in December 2007 after an earlier closure and was officially closed again as of 20 January 2024, and Climb Mount Kilimanjaro says it is currently closed with no reopening date, noting that it closes often and reopens after a couple of years. A rockfall at Arrow Glacier on 4 January 2006 killed three climbers.
SummitClimb describes the line as a steep boulder and scree route needing well-trained guides. Some operator material still describes it in the present tense, so treat any offer to climb the breach with caution and confirm the park status before paying anything.
Marangu, Rongai and the Northern Circuit
The eastern and northern routes avoid the Barranco Wall entirely. One of them sleeps in huts, one approaches from Kenya's side, and one circles the whole quiet north of the mountain.
Marangu
Marangu is the Coca-Cola Route, the only one with hut accommodation. Wikipedia gives the huts as Mandara at 2,743 m (8,999 ft), Horombo at 3,760 m (12,340 ft) and Kibo at 4,730 m (15,520 ft), and notes the route uses the same trail up and down, with an acclimatisation day at Horombo. Zara Tours says the summit push leaves Kibo at 1 AM, reaches Gilman's Point at 5,681 m (18,638 ft) between 5 and 7 AM and Uhuru Peak by about 9 AM.
The trade-off is success: Climb Mount Kilimanjaro says Marangu has the lowest summit success rate of the routes and that you see the same scenery twice, and Duma Explorer gives it 50 to 80 percent. The shared Marangu Route 5 Days costs $2,402.60 per person with park, hut and rescue fees included, and the budget Marangu Route 5 Days is $1,350 with hotel nights in Moshi not included. If you want the huts without the summit, the Kilimanjaro 3-Day Trek to Horombo Hut turns around at 3,720 m for $850.
Rongai
Rongai is the only route that approaches from the north, starting near the Kenyan border at Nalemuru Gate, 2,020 m according to Altezza Travel. Altezza's camps run through Simba at 2,625 m, Second Cave at 3,480 m and Kikilewa at 3,630 m to Kibo Summit Camp at 4,700 m, and Zara Tours adds Mawenzi Tarn at 4,315 m with an extra acclimatisation day. Duma Explorer, Climb Mount Kilimanjaro and Zara Tours say the descent goes down the Marangu trail.
Crowding is the selling point: Altezza Travel says Rongai sees about eight times fewer climbers than Machame or Marangu, and Duma Explorer rates it low traffic with about 80 percent success on 7 days. Because the north side is drier, Much Better Adventures suggests it as the best option in the shoulder months and Altezza Travel recommends it in May. The private Rongai Route 7 Days costs $3,993 per person and the budget Rongai Route 7 Days is $2,000 with airport transfers and hotel nights excluded.
Northern Circuit
The Northern Circuit is the longest and newest line on the mountain. Duma Explorer says it follows the Lemosho trail first and then circles the northern slopes of Kibo, and Altezza Travel says its itinerary meets the Rongai route at Third Cave Camp before summiting from School Hut Camp at 4,750 m. Wikipedia lists it as 9 days and 90 km, Much Better Adventures says 88 km, and durations run from the 8 days Altezza sells to the 8 to 9 days Duma Explorer describes.
Much Better Adventures calls it the longest and most expensive route with the highest success rate, and Duma Explorer claims it is consistently above 90 percent, figures that are operator claims with no audit behind them. Crowding is rated very low. The Northern Circuit Route 8 Days costs $4,554 per person with park fees, two hotel nights and transfers included, which makes it the priciest catalog climb in this comparison.
Horombo Huts, with Kibo behind. Photo: Christoph Strässler from Oberdorf BL, Schweiz, CC BY-SA 2.0, via Wikimedia Commons
Which Route Suits You
There is no single best route to climb Kilimanjaro, only routes that fit different bodies, budgets and calendars. Here is how the choice breaks down.
Choose by Days and Acclimatisation
Longer itineraries are reported to summit more often. Follow Alice cites a 2006 park-authority dataset of 27 percent success on 5-day climbs, 44 percent on 6 days, 64 percent on 7 days and 85 percent on 8 days, and admits the data is old and unverified. Much Better Adventures says a seven-day Machame has a much higher success rate than a six-day one.
For the most time to acclimatise, the 8-day Lemosho or the 8 to 10-day Northern Circuit give the slowest profile. If you only have 7 days on the mountain, a 7-day Machame or Lemosho is the practical compromise.
Choose by Budget
The catalog prices spread widely. The cheapest summit climbs here are the $1,350 budget Marangu and the $1,960 budget Lemosho, both with park fees included, while the private Northern Circuit tops the list at $4,554. Check what the price leaves out before comparing: the budget Marangu excludes Moshi hotel nights, and the Machame 7-day listing does not say whether park fees are covered, so ask the operator.
Choose by Huts, Crowds and Terrain
If you cannot face nights in tents, Marangu is the only hut route, full stop. If you want quiet, the north side wins: Altezza Travel says Rongai sees about eight times fewer climbers than the southern classics, and Duma Explorer rates the Northern Circuit and Umbwe very low traffic. If you want the classic scenery including the Barranco Wall, a 257 m scramble per operators, pick Machame or Lemosho, knowing Follow Alice says Lemosho, Machame, Shira and Umbwe all cross it while Marangu, Rongai and the Northern Circuit avoid it.
Total beginners should look at 7 or 8-day Lemosho or Machame, and the fit and experienced can consider Umbwe, knowing Wikipedia labels it dangerous. No route guarantees a summit: Wikipedia gives a 70 to 80 percent average success rate across about 50,000 trekkers a year.
Route Tips: Dos and Don'ts
Do
- Do pick the longest itinerary you can afford, because Follow Alice's 2006 dataset shows success rising from 27 percent on 5 days to 85 percent on 8 days.
- Do ask exactly which gate your climb starts from, because operator figures for the Lemosho start range from 2,100 m to 2,360 m and for Marangu Gate from 1,800 m to 1,860 m.
- Do book through a licensed operator with a guide, because Footslopes Tours notes park rules require entry through authorised gates with a licensed guide.
- Do consider Rongai in the shoulder months, because Much Better Adventures says the north side gets less rain and Altezza Travel recommends it in May.
- Do check whether park fees are inside the price before comparing totals, because listings such as the Machame 7-day do not state it.
Don't
- Don't book the Western Breach, because Wikipedia records it officially closed as of 20 January 2024 with no confirmed reopening.
- Don't dismiss Marangu without checking the success data, because Climb Mount Kilimanjaro says it has the lowest summit rate of the routes.
- Don't treat operator success rates as facts, because Follow Alice notes there is no single reliable public dataset and SummitClimb's claimed 98 percent is unaudited marketing.
- Don't plan a 6-day Machame just to save money, because Much Better Adventures says a 7-day version has a much higher success rate.
Kilimanjaro Routes FAQ
Which Kilimanjaro route is best?
For most first-timers, a 7 or 8-day Lemosho or Machame climb balances scenery, cost and acclimatisation. Climb Mount Kilimanjaro says Lemosho has the lushest forest, and you can compare the private Lemosho Route 7 Days against the alternatives in the catalog.
Which Kilimanjaro route has the highest success rate?
Operators claim the Northern Circuit, with Duma Explorer saying it is consistently above 90 percent and Much Better Adventures calling it the route with the highest success rate. These are unaudited claims, and the Northern Circuit Route 8 Days is how it is sold today.
Can a beginner climb Kilimanjaro?
Yes, if the itinerary is long enough. Wikipedia gives an average success rate of 70 to 80 percent across all trekkers, and Follow Alice's dataset shows 8-day itineraries at 85 percent. A good beginner choice is the tented Lemosho Route 8 Days with its extra acclimatisation day.
Is Marangu easier than the other Kilimanjaro routes?
Marangu has huts instead of tents, but Climb Mount Kilimanjaro says Marangu has the lowest summit success rate of the routes because of its short schedule. The shared Marangu Route 5 Days is how it is priced in the catalog.
Is the Western Breach open?
No. Wikipedia says the route was officially closed again as of 20 January 2024, and Climb Mount Kilimanjaro says there is no reopening date. Routes like the Machame Route 6 Days cross the Barranco Wall instead.
How long is each Kilimanjaro route?
Sources disagree because some count only the ascent. Wikipedia gives 37 km for Umbwe, 49 km for Machame, 56 km for Lemosho, 64 km for Marangu, 65 km for Rongai and 90 km for the Northern Circuit, while Much Better Adventures gives 48 km for Umbwe, 61 for Machame, 67 for Lemosho, 70 for Marangu, 74 for Rongai and 88 for the Northern Circuit. The full ranges are in the routes side by side.