Cost to Climb Kilimanjaro: What You Actually Pay
The cost to climb Kilimanjaro is set by two things: the fees Kilimanjaro National Park charges every climber, and the package price of the operator you book with. This page walks through the official TANAPA tariff line by line, shows a worked US$810 example for a 7-day Lemosho climb, and explains what a tour price covers and what it leaves on the table. Crew tips, the Tanzania visa, insurance, gear hire, hotel nights and flights all sit on top of the catalog price, and none of them are small. The catalog on this site runs from $86 for a day hike to $4,554 for an 8-day Northern Circuit climb. Compare the full range on the homepage for Kilimanjaro climbing tours and pick the trip that matches your budget.
Porters at one of the higher camps. Photo: FokshaAnatolii, CC BY-SA 4.0, via Wikimedia Commons
Quick answer The cost in one view
The cost to climb Kilimanjaro starts at $70 per person per day in national park conservation fees before 18% VAT, so park fees alone reach about $810 for a 7-day Lemosho climb on TANAPA rates. On top of that, bookable full-summit tours on this site run from $1,350 to $4,554 per person. Crew tips, the visa, insurance, gear hire and hotel nights are extra on most listings.
Key takeaways
- The official fee lines come from the TANAPA tariff booklet, set out below in park fees.
- Six bookable climbs from $850 to $4,554 are compared in the catalog table, including the Lemosho Route 7 Days Budget at $1,960.
- Nafika Tours states tips of $250 to $300 per hiker, and the $50 visa and 6,000 m insurance are listed in what comes on top.
- For itineraries, camps and gate altitudes, see the guide to how long does it take to climb Kilimanjaro.
Park Fees: The Floor Under Every Price
Every non-resident adult climber pays the same TANAPA fees, whether the trip costs $1,350 or $4,554. These lines come from the official TANAPA tariff booklet titled Tariffs 2023/2026, which runs from 1 July 2023 to 30 June and states that all charges are VAT (18%) exclusive.
The Official TANAPA Lines
The table below lists the Kilimanjaro charges in the TANAPA tariff booklet, all exclusive of 18% VAT. The conservation fee is charged per person per day in the park. Camping is charged per night on public campsites, huts per night on the Marangu Route at Mandara, Horombo and Kibo, and the rescue fee once per trip.
The booklet also notes that fees once paid are non-refundable, that proof of identification is mandatory at the entry gate, and that payment runs through the government electronic payment gateway via TANAPA online reservation, bank cards and mobile payment. For tents and huts above the ordinary camps, the tariff lists Upper Barafu Camp at $100 per person per night for ages 16 and over and $20 for ages 5 to 15. Two sources name this same $100 line differently, as Kosovo high camp (Altezza Travel) or crater camping (Climbing-kilimanjaro.com).
Kilimanjaro-park-tanzania.com separately lists a concession fee of $40 per day for ages 16 and over on top of the $70 entrance line, which the TANAPA booklet read for this page does not carry, so treat $70 as the only official conservation line.
| Fee | Amount | Per |
|---|---|---|
| Conservation fee, age 16+ | $70 | Person per day |
| Conservation fee, ages 5-15 | $20 | Person per day |
| Conservation fee, under 5 | Free | Person |
| Conservation fee, expatriates and Tanzania residents | $35 | Person per day |
| Conservation fee, East African citizens | TZS 10,000 | Person per day |
| Public campsite, age 16+ | $50 | Person per night |
| Public campsite, ages 5-15 | $10 | Person per night |
| Hut (Mandara, Horombo, Kibo), age 16+ | $60 | Person per night |
| Hut, ages 5-15 | $20 | Person per night |
| Rescue fee | $20 | Person per trip, non-refundable |
| Upper Barafu Camp, age 16+ | $100 | Person per night |
| Crew fee for Tanzanians | TZS 5,000 | Crew member per trip |
The US$810 Example, and Why Longer Climbs Cost More
The tariff arithmetic is simple. A 7-day Lemosho climb for one adult on TANAPA rates means 7 conservation days at $70 ($490), 6 camping nights at $50 ($300) and one rescue fee at $20. That is $810 before VAT, and the VAT lines in the booklet are 18% exclusive, so 18% applies on top. Operators count park days differently: Altezza Travel charges Lemosho at 6 to 8 park days, Machame at 6 or 7, Marangu at 5 or 6, Rongai at 6 or 7, Umbwe at 6 or 7 and the Northern Circuit at 10. Climbing-kilimanjaro.com counts 7 conservation days for a 7-day Lemosho climb, while Mountkilimanjaroclimb.com argues fees span 8 calendar days because entry and exit days are charged, yet its own table still charges 7. The practical point stands either way: each extra day on the mountain adds at least another $70 conservation fee plus a night of camping or hut fees.
Third-party estimates sit in the same band. Footslopes Tours puts total park fees for a typical climb at $800 to $1,500 per person depending on days and route. Mountkilimanjaroguide.com estimates around $800 for a six-day, five-night climb. Mountkilimanjaroclimb.com estimates about $400 for 5-day Marangu, $790 for 6-day Rongai or Umbwe, $910 for 7-day Machame and $1,150 for the 9-day Northern Circuit. Altezza Travel gives a worked example for a 7-day Lemosho tour for two foreigners of $1,708, or $2,015 with VAT, and Climbing-kilimanjaro.com gives $820 before VAT and $967.60 after 18% VAT for the same one-adult climb. Altezza Travel also lists a forest fee of $10 per adult charged once per tour, which the Kilimanjaro lines of the TANAPA booklet read here do not list, so its official status is not confirmed. The crew fee of TZS 5,000 per trip (about $2 per Altezza Travel) is paid by the operator, not the client.
Sources: TANAPA tariff booklet, Kilimanjaro-park-tanzania.com
What the Climbs Cost Here
The table compares six bookable climbs from this catalog with the US dollar card price per person, the trip length and whether park fees sit inside the price. Only these card prices are bookable prices of trips on this site.
Six Climbs Compared
The cheapest full-summit trip in the catalog is the Marangu Route 5 Days Budget at $1,350, and note its catch: a hotel night in Moshi is not included, so budget for the arrival night yourself. The dearest is the Northern Circuit Route 8 Days at $4,554, described in its listing as the longest route on the mountain, with park fees, two hotel nights and transfers included. In between sit the budget Lemosho, the shared Zara Machame climb and the private Altezza Rongai.
Listings with park fees included quote them as a bundle, so the fee does not show as a line item. One listing, the Machame Route 7 Days at $2,425, does not state whether park fees are covered at all, so the honest move is to ask the operator before booking. For the routes themselves, day counts and gate altitudes, see the comparison of Kilimanjaro routes.
| Climb | Price | Days | Park fees |
|---|---|---|---|
| Marangu Route 5 Days Budget (Bush Lion Trekking) | $1,350 | 5 days, itinerary runs 6 | Included, park fees, permits and rescue fees |
| Kilimanjaro 3-Day Trek to Horombo Hut (21 Africa Safari) | $850 | 3, no summit attempt | Included, park fees, rescue fees, taxes and VAT |
| Lemosho Route 7 Days Budget (Nafika Tours) | $1,960 | 7 | Included, park fees, rescue fees and 18% VAT |
| Machame Route 6 Days (Zara Tours) | $2,350 | 6 | Included, national park fees and rescue fees |
| Rongai Route 7 Days (Altezza Travel) | $3,993 | 9 days, 7 on the mountain | Included, all fees collected by Kilimanjaro National Park |
| Northern Circuit Route 8 Days (Altezza Travel) | $4,554 | 10 days, 8 on the mountain | Included, all fees collected by Kilimanjaro National Park |
Why the Same Route Varies in Price
The price spread inside the catalog comes from trip shape, not from park fees, which are identical for everyone. The Lemosho Route 7 Days Budget at $1,960 and the Lemosho Route 7 Days at $3,959 cover the same route and the same 5,895 m (19,341 ft) summit target, yet the Altezza version adds a private group of up to 15 per booking, unlimited oxygen tanks and Wilderness First Responder guides. The Nafika budget trip also carries park fees, VAT, two Moshi hotel nights and emergency oxygen, so read each inclusion list rather than assuming the cheaper trip strips the essentials.
Group size matters for your wallet beyond the ticket too, because tips are shared across more climbers in a bigger group. Duration matters for acclimatisation: the 8-day Lemosho Route 8 Days at $3,200 buys an extra acclimatisation day that the 7-day trips do not have.
What Comes on Top
A tour price is rarely the whole cost. Tips, the visa, insurance, gear hire, hotel nights in town and flights are each charged separately on most listings, and the figures below are quoted exactly as their sources state them. They are never added into a single total here, because your choices change each line.
Crew Tips
Tips are not included in most Kilimanjaro climbing listings and are named as an exclusion by Habari Adventure, Nafika, Zara Tours, Altezza Travel and Kilita. Nafika Tours states tips to the mountain crew at $250 to $300 per hiker. Duma Explorer suggests per-group daily tips of $20 to $25 for the lead guide, $10 to $15 for an assistant guide or cook and $5 to $10 for a porter, and stresses those rates are per group per day, not per climber.
Its per-climber estimates are $300 to $375 in a group of four and $250 to $315 in a group of eight, with a budget of 10 to 15 percent of the trek cost. KPAP, the Kilimanjaro Porters Assistance Project, gives no figures at all, saying amounts are hard to recommend because the minimum wage is not enforced. Zara Tours reminds climbers to tip guides, cooks and porters at the park gate on the last day.
Practical notes from Duma Explorer: bring US dollars dated 2009 or later in crisp $1, $5 and $10 bills, because ATMs in Arusha and Moshi dispense shillings, hold a labelled-envelope ceremony on the last evening at the final camp, and do not hand one lump sum to the lead guide for distribution. KPAP warns that extra people appearing at a tipping ceremony may signal kirunje, where non-working porters turn up to collect, and that specialty porters such as waiters, toilet porters and summit porters ideally receive extra compensation. Ask your company for the crew count before the climb so you know the expected total.
Visa, Insurance, Gear, Hotels and Flights
The Tanzanian embassy lists the ordinary single-entry visa at $50, the multiple-entry visa at $100, transit at $30 and business at $250, applied for through the online e-visa system and paid by Visa, Mastercard or bank transfer. Altezza Travel says the visa is obtainable at JRO for $50 for most nationals and $100 for US passport holders, and Follow Alice gives the same figures, adding that about 50 countries need no visa, including South Africa, Kenya, Hong Kong, Singapore, China, India, Brazil and Turkey. Visa fees are excluded from the price in the Altezza, Zara Tours and Habari listings. The UK FCDO says a multiple-entry visa cannot be obtained on arrival.
Insurance is listed as an exclusion by Altezza, Zara Tours and Kilinge Adventures. Follow Alice requires travel insurance covering hiking up to 6,000 m above sea level. Altezza recommends mountaineering insurance covering trekking up to 6,000 m (19,685 ft) and helicopter evacuation, and Footslopes Tours advises the same because the park rescue fee does not cover a full helicopter evacuation.
Gear: Altezza Travel says personal equipment such as hiking clothes, boots and a sleeping bag is available for hire, and Zara Tours rents some climbing gear from a price list. Current rental prices are not stated in the sources read. Altezza supplies North Face VE-25 tents shared by two hikers and group dining equipment on its camping climbs.
Hotel nights: the Zara Tours Marangu trip includes two nights at the Springlands Hotel in Moshi and airport transfers, and Altezza includes two nights at the Aishi Machame Hotel with an 11:00 AM check-out. Altezza says hotel lunches and dinners average $15 per person, and the Bush Lion budget Marangu trip includes no Moshi hotel night at all. Flights are listed as not included wherever a listing mentions them. Travellers from outside East Africa usually fly via Nairobi or Dar es Salaam to reach Kilimanjaro International Airport (JRO), which sits about 40 km from Moshi along the Moshi-Arusha Highway and about 60 km east of Arusha, and is served, per Wikipedia, by KLM, Qatar Airways, Ethiopian Airlines, Kenya Airways, Air France, Brussels Airlines, flydubai and Edelweiss seasonally.
The entrance to Kilimanjaro National Park. Photo: CC BY-SA 3.0, via Wikimedia Commons
Money Dos and Don'ts
Do
- Do budget for park fees separately from the tour price, because the TANAPA tariff charges about $810 before VAT for a 7-day Lemosho climb and some listings, such as the $100 Kilimanjaro Day Hike, exclude the park entry fee entirely.
- Do ask your company for the number of crew before the climb, because KPAP says this is how you know the expected tip total before the ceremony.
- Do bring US dollars dated 2009 or later in crisp $1, $5 and $10 bills for tips, because Duma Explorer says ATMs in Arusha and Moshi dispense only Tanzanian shillings.
- Do buy insurance that covers trekking to 6,000 m and helicopter evacuation, because Footslopes Tours says the park rescue fee does not cover a full helicopter evacuation and Altezza Travel recommends that cover.
- Do check the inclusion list on every listing, because park fees are bundled into some prices, excluded on others, and simply not stated on the $2,425 Machame Route 7 Days.
Don't
- Don't hand one lump sum to the lead guide for distribution, because Duma Explorer advises per-crew-member envelopes at the last-evening ceremony.
- Don't count on a refund of park fees, because the TANAPA tariff states fees once paid are non-refundable.
- Don't trust a single number for tips, because Nafika says $250 to $300 per hiker while Duma Explorer suggests $250 to $315 each in a group of eight and no official rate exists.
- Don't assume the TANAPA tariff will still apply after 30 June, because that is where the booklet's validity ends and no newer schedule was found.
Cost Questions
What is the average cost to climb Mount Kilimanjaro?
There is no single average, but the bookable full-summit tours in this catalog run from $1,350 to $4,554 per person, with park fees included in most of those listings. Tips, visa, insurance and flights come on top. The range is laid out in the catalog of Kilimanjaro climbing tours.
How much are Kilimanjaro park fees?
The TANAPA tariff sets the conservation fee at $70 per person per day for ages 16 and over, camping at $50 per night, Marangu huts at $60 per night and a $20 rescue fee per trip, all plus 18% VAT. Every line is listed in the park fees table.
How much should I tip the Kilimanjaro crew?
Nafika Tours states $250 to $300 per hiker, and Duma Explorer suggests $20 to $25 per group per day for the lead guide down to $5 to $10 for a porter, which works out lower per climber in bigger groups. KPAP publishes no figures. The detail is in what comes on top.
Are park fees included in tour prices?
On most listings here they are: the $1,960 Lemosho Route 7 Days Budget includes park fees, rescue fees and 18% VAT, and the Zara and Altezza climbs include national park fees. The $100 Kilimanjaro Day Hike excludes the entry fee, the $86 Kilimanjaro Day Trek charges $85 at the gate, and one Machame listing does not state it either way.
Do I need a visa and insurance for Kilimanjaro?
The Tanzanian embassy lists the single-entry visa at $50 and the multiple-entry visa at $100, which US passport holders are told to buy by operators, and listings from Altezza, Zara and Habari exclude visa fees. Insurance covering trekking to 6,000 m with helicopter evacuation is required by Follow Alice and recommended by Altezza. Airport arrival details are in the guide to Kilimanjaro airport.
Why do longer Kilimanjaro climbs cost more?
Every extra day adds another $70 conservation fee plus a night of camping at $50 or hut fees at $60 before VAT, and the Northern Circuit is charged at 10 park days by Altezza Travel against 5 or 6 for Marangu. Duma Explorer suggests budgeting 10 to 15 percent of the trek cost for tips. Route day counts sit in the comparison of Kilimanjaro routes.